National Football Foundation

News Detail

2011 NFF Campbell Trophy Winner Andrew Rodriguez Named a Finalist for the Prestigious Sullivan Award
DALLAS, March 14, 2012 - Andrew Rodriguez, the Army linebacker who claimed the 2011William V. Campbell Trophy from the National Football Foundation as college football's premier scholar-athlete, has
Published: 3/14/2012 5:42:00 PM

DALLAS, March 14, 2012 - Andrew Rodriguez, the Army linebacker who claimed the 2011William V. Campbell Trophy from the National Football Foundation as college football's premier scholar-athlete, has been named one of six finalists for the 82nd James E. Sullivan Award, presented by the Amateur Athletic Union to America's top amateur athlete.

"We are extremely excited about this prestigious honor that recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of Andrew Rodriguez," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "It is a tremendous honor not only for Andrew but for Army football, the National Football Foundation and all of college football. We would like to thank the Sullivan Award Committee as well as Army Athletics Director Boo Corrigan, who has been an enormous supporter of National Football Foundation and its efforts to promote the scholar-athlete ideal."

First presented in 1930, the Sullivan Award honors an athlete who demonstrates the qualities leadership, character, sportsmanship, and the ideals of amateurism. The finalists were selected from personal nominations following a review by the AAU Sullivan Award Executive Committee. The winner has been determined through voting by select members of the media, previous winners and AAU staff. The public was also allowed input through nationwide polling on the USA Today website.

The winner will be honored March 20th at the prestigious New York Athletic Club during a ceremony, which will start at 7:15 p.m. ET and can be watched live on the internet on the AAU's Facebook page ( or at The other 2011 finalists include Jillian Camarena-Williams (Track & Field), Alex Jupiter (Volleyball), Jason Read (Rowing), Katherine Reutter (Speedskating) and Jordyn Wieber (Gymnastics).

Rodriguez, a standout on the field, missed the entire 2010 season due to a potential career-ending back injury, but he returned as a team captain in 2011 to start at outside linebacker. He finished the season with 59 tackles while leading the team in pass breakups, passes defended, and fumble recoveries. Combined with his team leading 85 tackles in 2009, he concluded his career with 144 tackles, 3.0 tackles for loss, two forced fumbles and four fumble recoveries in 24 games.

The Alexandria, Va., native stands among our nation's future military leaders, ranking third in his class of 1,052 cadets at West Point. He carried a 4.14 GPA as a mechanical engineering major, recording six terms with a GPA of 4.0 or higher. A two-time CoSIDA Academic All-District I selection, he earned First-Team Academic All-America accolades in 2011.

A member of the 2011 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments, Rodriguez claimed the Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, on December 6, 2011 at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York City during the 54th NFF Annual Awards Dinner.

Past football recipients of the Sullivan Award include College Football Hall of Fame inductees Felix "Doc" Blanchard (Army, 1945), Arnold Tucker (Army, 1946), and Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), and NFF National Scholar-Athletes and William V. Campbell Trophy winners Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997) and Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007).

Notable past Sullivan Award recipients from sports other than football include Bruce Jenner (track & field), Shawn Johnson (gymnastics), Jackie Joyner-Kersey (athletics), Michelle Kwan (figure skating), Jessica Long (paralympian), Greg Louganis (diving), Evan Lysacek (figure skating), Michael Phelps (swimming), Wilma Rudolph (athletics) and Mark Spitz (swimming).

The award is named for the founder and past president of the Amateur Athletic Union, James E. Sullivan. Recognized as a pioneer in the amateur sports movement, Sullivan is credited with developing the current concept of the playground and organized recreation of the present day. Click here for more information on the award.

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners