National Scholar- Athlete Alumni Association

National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association

Since 1959, the National Football Foundation has annually recognized the best and the brightest college players, presenting them with prestigious NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments. Currently an $18,000 scholarship for postgraduate education, each award is presented at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner in conjunction with the College Football Hall of Fame induction ceremonies in New York City. On average, 12-15 awards are presented each year, and accepting the honor has always proven to be a highly inspiring moment for each recipient.

“Recipients of these awards have used their scholarships to become doctors, lawyers, engineers, scientists, businessmen and leaders in their communities,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning. “And many of our honorees, when confronted with the financial hurdles of continuing their education, have stated that it has been the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Award that made the difference in their career choices. Creating the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association allows them to remain active members of this exclusive club.”

The NFF founders believed in the power of an organization that would provide a collective voice for the promotion of amateur football while highlighting the game’s long-term ability to produce tomorrow’s leaders. The spirit of college football and the NFF’s mission of Building Leaders Through Football is embodied in the National Scholar-Athlete Awards. Launched in 2008, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association adds to this collective voice, providing a powerful vehicle for past honorees to remain in the vanguard of the NFF’s present efforts.

For more information on the program or to enroll for 2017, please email Ron Dilatush at

Reconnecting with this signature program, many past scholar-athletes have stepped forward to give back and support future generations by becoming members of the 2017 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, including:

Greg Amick Randolph-Macon (VA) 1984
John Arena Johns Hopkins (MD) 2013
David Berardinelli Bucknell 1992
Josh Bloom Dartmouth 1994
Thomas Burns * Virginia 1993
Gregg Carr Auburn 1984
Dave Casper ** Notre Dame 1973
Jonathan Claiborne Maryland 1977
Morgan Copeland Texas 1977
Donald Denbo Tennessee 1970
Dan DeRose Colorado State-Pueblo 1983
Richard Diana Yale 1981
Leo Dillon Dayton 1970
Bill Douglas Washington 1964
Greg Eslinger Minnesota 2005
Dave Foley Ohio State 1968
Kevin Fox Princeton 1976
Chris Hatcher Valdosta State (GA) 1994
Keith Heckendorf St. Cloud State (MN) 2003
Rex Kern ** Ohio State 1970
George Kunz Notre Dame 1968
Jeff Lewis Georgia 1977 
Craig Mahoney Iowa State 1990
Eli Manning Mississippi 2003
Peyton Manning *** Tennessee 1997
Michael Mauck Tennessee 1976
Mike Perrin Texas 1968
Greg Porter Washington State 1982
Scott Reynolds Hastings (Neb.) 1996
John Richards TCU 1966
Alan Rozycki Dartmouth 1960
Michael Ryan Washington 1966
John Sande Stanford 1970
John Sciarra ** UCLA 1975
Leon Shadowen Kentucky 1979
Robert Stebbins Central Michigan 1987
Bob Stein Minnesota 1968
Randall Stockham Utah State 1975
Willie Thompson Morgan State 1996
Charles Thomson Indiana 1971
Wesley Walls ** Mississippi 1988
David Wonderlick Susquehanna (PA) 2000

* William V. Campbell Trophy winner
** College Football Hall of Famer
*** College Football Hall of Famer and William V. Campbell Trophy winner

Corporate Partners