National High School Scholar-Athlete Awards

First bestowed in 1991, the NFF National High School Scholar-Athlete Awards have become one of the most prestigious and competitive high school academic honors in the country.

With 120 outposts and more than 12,000 members, the NFF Chapter Network covers more than 4,800 high schools and 400,000 student-athletes in 47 states, annually analyzing the credentials of the top student-athletes from their respective communities. Criteria for the award include but are not limited to academic achievement, athletic accomplishments and community leadership. The chapters subsequently recognize approximately 3,300 of the best scholar-athletes at their local awards banquets, distributing more than $1 million in scholarships.

From this pool of 3,300 scholar-athletes, each chapter is allowed to nominate one candidate, creating a group of finalists for national consideration. A national committee then reviews the finalists, selecting five winners, one from each region of the country. Each of the five recipients travels to New York City where they are honored each December during the NFF Chapter Awards Luncheon, presented by Under Armour, at the historic Waldorf Astoria Hotel. Although college freshman at the time of being honored, the honorees are solely recognized for accomplishments during their high school careers.

Note: The national office only accepts nominations from the chapters.

Current Recipients

View All Recipients

Corporate Partners

       BCS                     BCS