National Football Foundation


• Established in 1951

• More than 4.99 million student-athletes have played college football since the first game on Nov. 6, 1869

• Including the 2013 inductees, only 934 players and 205 coaches have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame from the nearly 4.99 million who have played or coached the game over the past 145 years

• Hosts more than 250 annual events, including the Enshrinement Festival each July and the popular Gridiron Legends Luncheon Series

• First class of inductees included notables Red Grange (Illinois), George Gipp (Notre Dame), Knute Rockne (Notre Dame), Amos Alonzo Stagg (4 schools) and Jim Thorpe (Carlisle)

• 294 schools are represented with at least one College Football Hall of Famer

Go to the Hall of Fame Page
Search for the inductees bios

Hall of Fame Search

Scholar - Athletes

The Campbell Trophy is one of college football's most sought after and competitive awards, recognizing an individual as the absolute best in the country for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership.

Each year, the winner is announced at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner in December at the Waldorf Astoria.

Go to the Scholar-Athletes Page


Play it Smart's mission is to help student-athletes take responsibility for their futures through lessons learned on the playing field, in the classroom and in service to others.

In 1998, The NFF created Play It Smart, an educational program targeted at high school football players from economically disadvantaged environments where family and community support are often lacking.

Go to the Play it Smart Page

Corporate Partners