Hall of Fame - Inductee Detail

Barry Alvarez

Barry Alvarez


  • Position: Coach
  • School: Wisconsin
  • Years: 1990-2005
  • Inducted: 2010
  • Place of Birth: Langeloth, PA
  • Date of Birth: Dec 30, 1946

Member Biography

The only coach in Big Ten history to win back-to-back Rose Bowls, Barry Alvarez set a record as having the highest all-time bowl winning percentage (.727) for coaches with at least 11 bowl appearances. Alvarez compiled a 118-73-4 record while at Wisconsin and captured three Big Ten Championships. When he retired, he and College Football Hall of Fame coach Woody Hayes were the only two coaches to win three Rose Bowls. He coached 12 first-team All-America players, including three-time first team selection and 1999 Heisman Trophy winner Ron Dayne, 62 first-team All-Big Ten picks, and two NFF National Scholar-Athletes (Jim Leonhard and Joe Thomas). In 1993, Alvarez was named Bobby Dodd National Coach of the Year, AFCA National Coach of the Year and College & Pro Football Newsweekly National Coach of the Year. The 2001 Victor Award (National Coach of the Year) winner, Alvarez was a finalist for ESPN National College Coach of the Decade. Named Wisconsin�s athletics director in 2004, Alvarez continued to coach for two years before retiring from trhe sidelines and focusing solely on his administrative position. Alvarez served on the NCAA Football Issues Committee, the Board of Directors of the MACC Fund and was appointed as one of the chairs of the NCAA�s Football Academic Enhancement Group.