National Football Foundation

The Distinguished American Award

Established: 1966

Awarded on special occasions when an outstanding candidate emerges, the Distinguished American Award is recognized as one of The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame's most prestigious honors.

The recipient, not limited to a former college player or coach, must be an outstanding person who has maintained a lifetime of interest in the game and who, over a long period of time, has exhibited enviable leadership qualities and made a significant contribution to the betterment of amateur football in the United States.

Selection Process: Various individuals associated with The National Football Foundation, such as former recipients, board members and corporate leaders, send nominations and suggestions to the NFF Chairman.

Selection of the recipient is made by the Awards Committee and ratified by the Board of Directors.


View All Recipients
  • University of Texas
    Univ. of Texas System Chancellor, Former U.S. Navy Four-Star Admiral

Corporate Sponsors