The Chris Schenkel Award

2013 Chris Schenkel Award recipient Gene Deckerhoff (Florida State) receives his plaque at the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, 2013 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

Founded: 1996

Every year, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame presents an award to a sports broadcaster who has had a long and distinguished career broadcasting college football. The award seeks to recognize broadcasters with direct ties to college and universities rather than strictly national broadcasters.

Given annually since 1996 during the College Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival in South Bend, Ind., the award bears the name of its first recipient, Chris Schenkel, whose life-long commitment to excellence in broadcasting and longstanding association with The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame reflect the achievements and spirit the award embodies.


View All Recipients
  • University of Michigan
    Sports Broadcaster, Michigan IMG Radio Network

Corporate Sponsors

       BCS                     BCS