National Football Foundation

News Detail

29 NFF National Scholar-Athletes on Week 1 NFL Rosters
Group includes two Campbell Trophy winners, two Super Bowl MVPs, eight Pro Bowlers and six first-round picks.
Published: 9/6/2017 12:21:00 PM
(Pictured: 20 former NFF National Scholar-Athletes are on Week 1 NFL rosters, including Campbell Trophy winner Alex Mack (California - Atlanta Falcons), Zay Jones (East Carolina - Buffalo Bills), Eli Manning (Ole Miss - New York Giants), Drew Brees (Purdue - New Orleans Saints) and Derek Carr (Fresno State - Oakland Raiders).

Twenty-nine former NFF National Scholar-Athletes appear on NFL rosters or practice squads as the 2017 regular season begins this week. The group includes two Campbell Trophy® winners in Sam Acho (Texas-2010) and Alex Mack (California-2008); two Super Bowl MVPs in Drew Brees (Purdue-2000) and Eli Manning (Ole Miss-2003); eight Pro Bowlers and six first-round picks. Also included are three members of the most recent class from 2016: Taysom Hill (BYU-New Orleans Saints), Zay Jones (East Carolina-Buffalo Bills) and Cooper Rush (Central Michigan-Dallas Cowboys).

Nineteen NFL teams boast at least one former NFF National Scholar-Athlete and several teams hold multiple NFF National Scholar-Athletes on their rosters, led by the New Orleans Saints with four. The New England Patriots and Washington Redskins boast three NFF National Scholar-Athletes each. Three teams boast two former NFF National Scholar-Athletes: Cleveland Browns, Indianapolis Colts and Miami Dolphins.

The list boasts 10 quarterbacks. Offensive linemen comprise the second most common position for NFF National Scholar-Athletes on rosters with eight players. Saints quarterback Drew Brees holds the spot as the longest-tenured NFF National Scholar-Athlete in the NFL as he enters his 17th season. He claimed honors as a member of the 2000 class from Purdue.

Former Cornell quarterback Jeff Mathews (2013) has continued his professional career as a member of the Toronto Argonauts of the Canadian Football League.

The 29 NFF National Scholar-Athletes on NFL rosters are:

Atlanta Falcons
Alex Mack, C (California, 2008)*

Baltimore Ravens
Danny Woodhead, RB (Chadron State [Neb.], 2007)

Buffalo Bills
Zay Jones, WR (East Carolina, 2016)

Chicago Bears
Sam Acho, DE (Texas, 2010)*

Cleveland Browns
Spencer Drango, OT (Baylor, 2015)
Joe Thomas, OT (Wisconsin, 2006)

Dallas Cowboys
Cooper Rush, QB (Central Michigan, 2016)

Detroit Lions
Zach Zenner, RB (South Dakota State, 2014)

Indianapolis Colts
Anthony Castonzo, OT (Boston College, 2010)
Scott Tolzien, QB (Wisconsin, 2010)

Jacksonville Jaguars
Paul Posluszny, LB (Penn State, 2006)

Los Angeles Rams
Cody Davis, S (Texas Tech, 2012)

Miami Dolphins
Jake Brendel, C (UCLA, 2015)
Ryan Tannehill, QB (Texas A&M, 2011)

New England Patriots
Rex Burkhead, RB (Nebraska, 2012)
Jordan Richards, S (Stanford, 2014)
Nate Solder, OT (Colorado, 2010)

New Orleans Saints
Drew Brees, QB (Purdue, 2000)
Chase Daniel, QB (Missouri, 2008)
Taysom Hill, QB (BYU, 2016)
Manti Te’o, LB (Notre Dame, 2012)

New York Giants
Eli Manning, QB, (Ole Miss, 2003)

Oakland Raiders
Derek Carr, QB (Fresno State, 2013)

Philadelphia Eagles
Stefen Wisniewski, OG (Penn State, 2010)

Seattle Seahawks
Tyler Lockett, WR (Kansas State, 2014)

Tennessee Titans
Eric Decker, WR (Minnesota, 2009)

Washington Redskins
Kirk Cousins, QB (Michigan State, 2011)
Spencer Long, OL (Nebraska, 2013)
Colt McCoy, QB (Texas, 2009)

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners