National Football Foundation

News Detail

NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute for Adrian Peterson Postponed
NFF will look to reschedule the salute after Georgia Southern's game against New Hampshire this Saturday, Sept. 9, has been moved to Birmingham, Ala., due to Hurricane Irma.
Published: 9/7/2017 11:05:00 AM

Due to Hurricane Irma, Georgia Southern announced that its home game against New Hampshire scheduled for this Saturday, Sept. 9, will now be played at Legion Field in Birmingham, Ala. The previously announced NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, honoring 2017 College Football Hall of Fame electee Adrian Peterson will be postponed. The NFF will work together with Georgia Southern and Peterson in attempting to reschedule the Salute later this season.

The NFF sends its thoughts and prayers to all of those on the east coast as they prepare for Hurricane Irma.

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program, which began with the inaugural class in 1951, has become a hallowed tradition, and to this day the singular events remain the first of numerous activities in each inductee’s Hall of Fame experience. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game, and many inductees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them one more chance to take the field and hear the crowd roar their name.

The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted at the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Hilton Midtown on Tuesday, Dec. 5. This year’s College Football Hall of Fame Class includes: Bob Crable (Notre Dame), Marshall Faulk (San Diego State), Kirk Gibson (Michigan State), Matt Leinart (Southern California), Peyton Manning (Tennessee), Bob McKay (Texas), Dat Nguyen (Texas A&M), Adrian Peterson (Georgia Southern), Mike Ruth (Boston College), Brian Urlacher (New Mexico) and coaches Danny Ford (Clemson, Arkansas), Larry Kehres (Mount Union [Ohio]) and Steve Spurrier (Duke, Florida, South Carolina). For more information on the Dinner, please contact Will Rudd at or by calling 972.556.1000.

The inductees will also be honored at the National Hall of Fame Salute at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on Jan. 1, 2018, and they will take part in a series of events at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta where their accomplishments will be forever immortalized.

Remaining Scheduled 2017 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes
Presented by Fidelity Investments
(Chronological Order)





postponed due to
Hurricane Irma

Adrian Peterson

Georgia Southern (1998-2001)


Sept. 9

Coach Steve Spurrier

Florida (1990-2001)

Northern Colorado

Sept. 16

Matt Leinart

Southern California (2003-05)


Sept. 23

Kirk Gibson

Michigan State (1975-78)

Notre Dame

Sept. 30

Peyton Manning

Tennessee (1994-97)


Oct. 7

Bob McKay

Texas (1968-69)

Kansas State

Oct. 14

Marshall Faulk

San Diego State (1991-93)

Boise State

Oct. 21

Coach Steve Spurrier

Duke (1987-89)


Oct. 27

Mike Ruth

Boston College (1982-85)

Florida State

Oct. 28

Coach Danny Ford

Clemson (1978-89)

Georgia Tech

Nov. 4

Dat Nguyen

Texas A&M (1995-98)


Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners