National Football Foundation

News Detail

Media Advisory: 58th Presentation of the NFF MacArthur Bowl to Clemson University and Dabo Swinney
The official ceremony will take place June 1 at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in Atlanta, unveiling the coveted championship trophy with the Tigers’ name etched alongside the greatest teams in college football history.
Published: 5/30/2017 11:05:00 AM


  • Dabo Swinney, head football coach, Clemson University
  • Steve Hatchell, president & CEO, National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
  • Dennis Adamovich, CEO, College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience

The National Football Foundation will formally present Clemson University and head coach Dabo Swinney with the NFF MacArthur Bowl, the organization’s national championship trophy for the NCAA Division I - Football Bowl Subdivision, during a ceremony at the College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience in Atlanta. The NFF previously announced Clemson (14-1) as the recipient of the trophy following its 35-31 victory against Alabama (14-1) in the College Football Playoff National Championship on Jan. 9 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla.

The ceremony will mark the official unveiling of the trophy with Clemson’s name permanently etched on the fabled archways of the historic trophy, joining the previous 59 teams who have been recognized since the coveted honor was first bestowed in 1959. Members of the public with general admission tickets to the Hall may attend the event, which may be purchased in advance by visiting or on the day of the event at the Hall of Fame Box Office.

Thursday, June 1
5:15 p.m. ET

College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience
250 Marietta St., N.W Atlanta, GA 30313

Media may request the link to download B-Roll and SOT from the event by emailing

Media wishing to cover the event need to request credentials in advance by emailing

With its 2016 championship, Clemson claimed the MacArthur Bowl for the second time in the school’s history. The Tigers previously won the MacArthur Bowl at the end of the1981 season under 2017 College Football Hall of Fame electee Danny Ford. Presented to every national champion since 1959, the MacArthur Bowl represents the pinnacle of team achievement in college sports, and each year a new name has been etched alongside the greatest teams of all time.

Click here to watch a video on the history of the trophy.

Click here for more information on the MacArthur Bowl.

About Atlanta Hall Management & the College Football Hall of Fame
The College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience is a 94,256-square-foot attraction located in the heart of Atlanta's sports, entertainment and tourism district. Adjacent to the Georgia World Congress Center and Centennial Olympic Park, the Hall provides visitors with a highly immersive, interactive and engaging experience using a blend of historic college football artifacts and state-of-the-art, interactive multimedia exhibits.  The National Football Foundation (NFF) launched the Hall in 1951 to stand as one of the nation's premier sports shrines, immortalizing the game’s greatest players and coaches as positive role models for future generations. Atlanta Hall Management, Inc., partnered with the NFF to construct and operate the Hall of Fame attraction, which provides a platform for community outreach, education and character development initiatives, as well as serves as one of Atlanta’s premier special event spaces. For more information, please visit

About The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include, the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, The William V. Campbell Trophy presented by Fidelity Investments, annual scholarships of more than $1.3 million and a series of initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Hofmann Brands, New York Athletic Club, Pasadena Tournament of Roses, PrimeSport, the Sports Business Journal, Under Armour and VICIS. Learn more at

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners