National Football Foundation

News Detail

MEDIA ADVISORY: June 1 Release of the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Ballot
The sport’s top players and coaches will vie for college football’s ultimate honor.
Published: 5/30/2017 1:00:00 PM

The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame will announce Thursday, June 1, the names on the 2018 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

The 2018 ballot will include 75 players and six coaches from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and 98 players and 31 coaches from the NCAA divisional and NAIA ranks.

Thursday, June 1 at 11 a.m. ET

Via a national press release from Irving, Texas

To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a First Team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 full seasons prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three full seasons. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate’s post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.

The ballot will be emailed this week to the more than 12,000 NFF members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the NFF’s Honors Courts, which deliberate and select the class. The FBS Honors Court, chaired by NFF Board Member and College Football Hall of Famer Archie Griffin from Ohio State, and the Divisional Honors Court, chaired by former Marshall head coach, longtime athletics director and NFF Board Member Jack Lengyel, include an elite and geographically diverse pool of athletic administrators, Hall of Famers and members of the media.

As part of a continuing tradition, the NFF has partnered with the College Football Playoff (CFP) to announce the new College Football Hall of Fame class during festivities prior to the National Championship in the host city. The announcement of the 2018 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta, and they will be inducted at the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner Dec. 4, 2018, at the New York Hilton Midtown. The inductees will be permanently enshrined at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

Of the 5.19 million individuals who have played college football since Princeton first battled Rutgers on Nov. 6, 1869, only 987 players have earned induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, or less than two ten-thousandths (.0002) of one percent of those who have played the game during the past 148 years. From the coaching ranks, 214 individuals have achieved Hall of Fame distinction.

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners