National Football Foundation

News Detail

April 5: Announcement of the 2017 NFF Hampshire Honor Society Membership
NFF will announce this year's membership, who all maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.
Published: 4/4/2017 11:00:00 AM

Announcement of the 2017 members of the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, which is celebrating its 11th year and is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college career.


Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

·         Being a starter or a significant contributor in one’s last year of eligibility (or a senior who has declared for the NFL Draft) at an NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III or an NAIA college or university;

·         Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and

·         Meeting all NCAA/NAIA-mandated progress towards degree requirements.

Wednesday, April 5, at 11 a.m. ET 


Via a national press release from Irving, Texas 


The NFF Hampshire Honor Society capitalizes on the NFF’s current National Scholar-Athlete program by greatly expanding the number of scholar-athletes the NFF can recognize each year. Jon F. Hanson, the chairman and founder of The Hampshire Companies and NFF Chairman Emeritus, provided the endowment to launch the NFF Hampshire Honor Society in 2007. Celebrating its 11th year in 2017, the initiative has previously honored 6,634 student-athletes since its inception.

About the Hampshire Foundation:

The Hampshire Foundation is the charitable arm of The Hampshire Companies, a privately-held, fully-integrated real estate firm that has more than 60 years of hands-on, cycle-tested experience in acquiring, developing, leasing, repositioning, managing, financing and disposing of real estate. Founded by Jon F. Hanson, who served as NFF Chairman from 1994-2006, Hampshire is headquartered in Morristown, N.J. Learn more at

About The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include, the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, The William V. Campbell Trophy presented by Fidelity Investments, annual scholarships of more than $1.3 million and a series of initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Hofmann Brands, New York Athletic Club, Pasadena Tournament of Roses, PrimeSport, the Sports Business Journal, Under Armour and VICIS. Learn more at

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners