National Football Foundation

News Detail

NFF Wyoming Chapter Hosts Successful Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet
The NFF Wyoming Chapter held its 23rd annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet on March 18.
Published: 3/20/2017 11:00:00 AM

(Laramie, Wyo.) - The Wyoming Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame held its 23rd annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Banquet on Saturday evening, March 18, 2017, in the Marian H. Rochelle Gateway Center on the campus of the University of Wyoming.  The event was attended by over 300 guests and featured comments from University of Wyoming Head Football Coach Craig Bohl and former UW and NFL offensive tackle Adam Goldberg.

Ten special awards recipients were honored along with 16 scholar-athletes from the University of Wyoming and each of the five high school classifications in the state.  A total of $21,600 in scholarships was awarded with each finalist receiving a National Football Foundation Plaque and a $1,200 scholarship to the school of their choice.

Nolan McCafferty of Big Horn High School was named the Top-Scholar-Athlete and received an additional $1,200 scholarship.

During the past 23 years, the Wyoming Chapter has awarded $329,550 in scholarships to student-athletes representing 58 of the 64 Wyoming high schools that play football and the University of Wyoming. The 12 high school scholar-athlete finalists in 2016 had an average cumulative GPA of 3.85 and include one student body president, two senior class vice-presidents, one student council president, six school club officers, two school yearbook or newspaper editors, and one Eagle Scout. Six of the 12 scored a 27 or above on their ACT and three scored a 30 or above. 

Special Award Recipients include:  
Greatest University of Wyoming Football Fans:  Jim Moore, Douglas; Tom Roberts, Worland
Greatest Wyoming High School Football Fans:  Wes Grussendorf, Casper; Rusty Jones, Wright
Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football:  John Cundall, Rock Springs; John Pine, Sheridan
Ox Zellner Football Official Career Achievement Award:  Keith Gemar, Gillette
Football Coach Career Achievement Award:  Gary Jahnke, Gillette; Gary Glenn, Douglas; Brick Cegelski, Cheyenne

This year’s scholar-athlete finalists were

Courage Award             Skyler Dillon-Bennett, Tongue River

Perseverance Award      Zach Hoopman, Douglas

1A-6 Man                      Dalton Abarr, Meeteetse; Garrett Cooper, Lingle-Ft. Laramie

1A Lineman                   Garrett Vezain, Rocky Mountain

1A Back                        Brennan Kutterer, Tongue River

2A Lineman                   Andrew Ratty, Big Horn

2A Back                        Nolan McCafferty, Big Horn

3A Lineman                   McCabe Smith, Star Valley

3A Back                        T.J. Abraham, Powell; Ty Larson, Douglas

4A Lineman                   Lane Tucker, Campbell County

4A Back                        Caleb Price, South; Coy Steel, Sheridan

UW Lineman                  Chase Roullier

UW Back                      Eric Nzeocha

$600 Scholarship Recipients included: Logan Downs of Glenrock High School and Kane Leithead from Wright High School.

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners