National Football Foundation

News Detail

FWAA and NFF Partner for Third Year on Super 16 Poll
The FWAA and NFF will rank the top teams in the Football Bowl Subdivision during the 2016 season.
Published: 8/17/2016 10:00:00 AM

The FWAA and NFF will assemble a group of some of the most respected voices in college football to rank the top teams in the Football Bowl Subdivision during the 2016 season, releasing the Super 16 Poll each week.

IRVING, Texas (Aug. 17, 2016) – The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that they will partner for the third consecutive year to conduct The FWAA-NFF Super 16 Poll, the organizations’ weekly  major-college football poll. The results will be released by 11:30 a.m. ET each Sunday of the regular 2016 season, and the plans include a preseason poll. The first poll of the season will be released on Tuesday, Sept. 6, to account for the games that will be played on Labor Day. The final poll will be released Dec. 4, the day after the conference championship games.

“We are proud to continue our partnership with the FWAA on the Super 16 Poll,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “We received lots of positive feedback during the past two seasons from fans on how much they enjoyed the poll, and we’re looking forward to continuing the momentum. We believe that our voters offer an extremely credible set of opinions, and we hope that the combined respect of both our organizations will continue to provide a compelling reference point for fans to follow during the season.”

The voters in the poll consist of FWAA writers and College Football Hall of Famers. The poll aims to draw on the vast knowledge of the nation’s top journalists with extensive experience covering college football in combination with some of the greatest legends to have ever played or coached the game.

“We are extremely excited to continue the Super 16 Poll and partner with the National Football Foundation,” said 2016 FWAA President Mark Anderson, a voter in the poll. “We have had a great experience with the poll, and we look forward to extending it for another year.

“Our poll includes of some of the most knowledgeable and objective college football minds in the country, and we believe the poll has developed into a compelling instrument for ranking the best teams in the country.”

The decision to conduct the poll was made by the boards of both organizations at the conclusion of the 2013 season and the end of the Bowl Championship Series, building on a relationship that stretches back to the 1940s when both groups were founded. The 2016 poll will tally the votes of 42 individuals (35 from the FWAA and seven Hall of Famers) on a weekly basis, ranking the top 16 teams in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision. The poll utilized a similar-sized group of voters in 2015 and 2014. Click here for an archive of previous year’s rankings.

The names and affiliations of the 2016 voters are listed below, and their individual rankings will again be made public each week during the season. The FWAA voters, all current or past writers of national stature, are selected to ensure balanced-geographical representation. The NFF voters, comprised of Hall of Fame players and coaches, also add to the diversity of perspectives, coming from different conferences and regions of the country.

2016 FWAA-NFF Super 16 Voters

·        Mark Anderson, Las Vegas Review-Journal

·        Lee Barfknecht, Omaha World-Herald

·        Zach Barnett, FootballScoop

·        Tony Barnhart,

·        Mark Blaudschun, TMG Sports

·        Gil Brandt,

·        Aaron Brenner, Charleston Post & Courier

·        Brian Davis, Austin American-Statesman

·        Jon Finkel,

·        Bryan Fischer, Freelance

·        Teddy Greenstein, Chicago Tribune

·        Andrew Greif, The Oregonian

·        Tim Griffin, San Antonio Express-News

·        Mike Griffith, Atlanta Journal Constitution/SEC Country

·        Wally Hall, Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

·        Dan Harralson, Saturday Down South

·        Tommy Hicks, Freelance

·        Ron Higgins, Times Picayune

·        Johnnie Johnson, College Football Hall of Famer (Texas)

·        Dave Jones, PA Media Group

·        Ryan Kartje, Orange County Register

·        Blair Kerkhoff, Kansas City Star

·        Stefanie Loh, Seattle Times

·        Kelly Lyell, Fort Collins Coloradoan

·        Marty Lyons, College Football Hall of Famer (Alabama)

·        Kevin McGuire, NBC Sports College Football Talk

·        Don McPherson, College Football Hall of Famer (Syracuse)

·        Chet Moeller, College Football Hall of Famer (Navy)

·        Matt Murschel, Orlando Sentinel

·        Michael Payton, College Football Hall of Famer (Marshall)

·        Randy Peterson, Des Moines Register

·        Matt Porter, The Palm Beach Post

·        Jon Solomon,

·        Dan Sileo, Mighty 1090 Radio (San Diego)

·        R.C. Slocum, College Football Hall of Famer (Texas A&M)

·        Phil Steele, Phil Steele Publications

·        Patrick Stevens,

·        David Teel, Newport News Daily Press

·        John Wagner, Toledo Blade

·        Graham Watson, Yahoo! Sports

·        Dick Weiss, Blue Star Media

·        Reggie Williams, College Football Hall of Famer (Dartmouth)

2016 FWAA-NFF Super 16 Poll Release Schedule

Aug. 25           Preseason Rankings

Sept. 6            Week 1 Rankings

Sept. 11          Week 2 Rankings

Sept. 18          Week 3 Rankings

Sept. 25          Week 4 Rankings

Oct. 2              Week 5 Rankings

Oct. 9             Week 6 Rankings

Oct. 16            Week 7 Rankings

Oct. 23            Week 8 Rankings

Oct. 30            Week 9 Rankings

Nov. 6             Week 10 Rankings

Nov. 13           Week 11 Rankings

Nov. 20           Week 12 Rankings

Nov. 27           Week 13 Rankings

Dec. 4              Final Rankings

About The Football Writers Association of America
The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of 1,400 men and women who cover college football. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include game day operations, major awards and its annual All- America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at  or 214-870-6516 or visit

About The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include, the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, The William V. Campbell Trophy presented by Fidelity Investments, annual scholarships of more than $1.3 million and a series of initiatives to honor the legends of the past and inspire the leaders of the future. NFF corporate partners include Delta Air Lines, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, New York Athletic Club, Pasadena Tournament of Roses, PrimeSport, the Sports Business Journal, Under Armour and VICIS. Learn more at

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners