National Football Foundation

News Detail

This Week in College Football History: Aug. 25-31
This Week in College Football History takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 146 years.
Published: 8/22/2014 11:00:00 AM
(Pictured: After starting the season with a 31-31 tie against Tennessee, Hall of Fame coach Bill McCartney would go on to lead Colorado to an 11-1-1 record and the 1990 national crown.)

As part of an ongoing series throughout the fall, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame posts This Week in College Football History, which takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 146 years. If you choose to use this content in whole or in part, as a courtesy, please credit The National Football Foundation and use the NFF logo, which can be downloaded here.


Aug. 25, 1990
No. 5 Colorado ties No. 8 Tennessee, 31-31
Anaheim Stadium - Anaheim, Calif.

In the first ever Disneyland Pigskin Classic, created as a West Coast counterpart to the Kickoff Classic on the East Coast, No. 5 Colorado tied No. 8 Tennessee 31-31. The Buffs and Volunteers didn’t start their seasons on the best foot with an error-ridden first three quarters. The Volunteers overcame a 24-10 Colorado lead behind the passing of quarterback Andy Kelly, who threw for 368 yards and two touchdowns in the game. With 2:25 left in the game, the Vols scored, and they opted for an extra point instead of the two-point conversion for the win. Hall of Fame coach Bill McCartney would go on to lead the Buffs to an 11-1-1 record and the 1990 national crown with the help of several stalwarts, including College Football Hall of Fame defensive end Alfred Williams, All-American running back Eric Bieniemy and 1992 Campbell Trophy winner Jim Hansen.


Aug. 26, 2000
No. 2 Florida State def. BYU, 29-3
EverBank Field – Jacksonville, Fla.

In his final season opener, BYU’s LaVell Edwards matched up against fellow College Football Hall of Fame coach Bobby Bowden in a game featuring the most-ever combined wins of opposing coaches (555). Florida State built an early 22-0 lead behind 2000 NFF National Scholar-Athlete and Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Chris Weinke, who finished the day throwing for 318 yards and two touchdowns. The Seminoles sacked Cougar quarterbacks Bret Engemann and Charlie Peterson five times and intercepted three passes. With a field goal in the third quarter, BYU managed to keep alive its streak of 314 games without being shut out. Bowden would go on to lead Florida State to an 11-1 record and a trip to the BCS national championship game at the Orange Bowl.

Aug. 27, 1988
No. 2 Nebraska def. No. 11 Texas A&M, 23-14
Giants Stadium – East Rutherford, N.J.

Texas A&M wanted to prove it could compete with the best when it accepted the invitation to play in the 1988 Kickoff Classic, but Nebraska held on to beat the Aggies 23-14 behind quarterback Steve Taylor. After Taylor found Todd Millikan for a touchdown to give the Huskers a 20-14 lead, his 18-yard run on third-and-long on Nebraska’s next possession led to a Gregg Barrios game-record 48-yard field goal. Texas A&M quarterback Bucky Richardson  only managed 42 yards and threw two interceptions, allowing College Football Hall of Fame coach Tom Osborne’s Huskers to hold on to the victory.

Aug. 28, 2008
Stanford def. Oregon State, 36-28
Stanford Stadium – Stanford, Calif.

Stanford was out for revenge after a 23-6 loss to Oregon State the previous year. The score went back and forth until the fourth quarter when coach Jim Harbaugh’s Cardinal took advantage of the mistakes the Beavers were making. In the middle of the fourth quarter, Stanford’s Bo McNally returned an interception for a 34-yard touchdown. With three minutes left in the game, Oregon State came back for another touchdown and two-point conversion by quarterback Lyle Moevao, giving them a chance to win. But, with 48 seconds left, Cardinal safety Taylor Skaufel caused an Oregon State fumble, spoiling the Beavers’ chances of opening their season with a win.

Aug. 29, 2013
Fresno State def. Rutgers, 52-51
Bulldog Stadium – Fresno, Calif.

High scoring and non-stop adrenaline made Fresno State’s 52-51 season-opening victory over Rutgers feel more like a bowl game. 2013 NFF National Scholar-Athlete and Fresno State quarterback Derek Carr not only overcame a tough Rutgers team, but his newborn son had come home days earlier from being in neonatal care during his first three weeks of life. Carr threw for 456 yards and five touchdowns to lead his Bulldogs to victory, but only after Rutgers forced overtime. Carr threw a 25-yard pass for the touchdown, which was followed by the extra point. Rutgers retaliated with a touchdown by quarterback Gary Nova, but was unable to convert on a two-point conversion, sealing Fresno State’s victory.

Aug. 30, 1997
North Carolina State def. No. 13 Syracuse, 32-31
Carrier Dome – Syracuse, N.Y.

Syracuse would lose its fourth-straight home opener, falling 32-31 to North Carolina State in overtime. The Orange leapt to an early 14-0 lead, but Wolfpack quarterback Jamie Barnette tied the game in the third quarter with his second touchdown pass to Torry Holt. Syracuse wide receiver Quinton Spotwood’s 72-yard punt return for a touchdown midway through the fourth looked like it would give the Orange the win, but Barnette matched it with his third touchdown pass to send the game into overtime. Donovan McNabb’s 18-yard touchdown pass put Syracuse on the board first in OT, but NC State pulled within one thanks to a touchdown by Tremayne Stephens. While Syracuse head coach Paul Pasqualoni tried to call a timeout, Barnette threw a two-point pass to Holt to give the Wolfpack the upset.

Aug. 31, 2006
Iowa State def. Toledo, 45-43
Jack Trice Stadium – Ames, Iowa

Iowa State had never won an overtime game in school history, but the void changed when the Cyclones beat Toledo 45-43 in 2006. Iowa State had a 12-point lead in the second half before the Rockets came charging back to tie up the game and send it to overtime. Iowa State led off the first OT with a 10-yard touchdown run by quarterback Bret Meyer, but Toledo came right back with a 25-yard touchdown pass. The two teams traded scores until the third OT when Toledo failed to convert the two-point conversion.

About The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, the NFF Leadership Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards presented by Fidelity Investments, the NFF High School Showcases, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF Faculty Salute Initiative presented by Fidelity Investments, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF also collaborates with the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) to release the FWAA-NFF Grantland Rice Super 16 Poll; presents the William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth and hosted at the New York Athletic Club; and bestows several other major awards at the NFF Annual Awards Dinner. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, PrimeSport, the Sports Business Journal, and Under Armour. Learn more at

cialis pas cialis pas

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners