National Football Foundation

News Detail

This Week in College Football History: Sept. 30 – Oct. 6
This Week in College Football History takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 145 years.
Published: 9/27/2013 11:00:00 AM
(Pictured: NFF National Scholar-Athlete and current Red Raider coach Kliff Kingsbury led Texas Tech to a dramatic 48-47 overtime win against in-state rival Texas A&M in 2002.)

As part of an ongoing series throughout the fall, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame posts This Week in College Football History, which takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 145 years. If you choose to use this content in whole or in part, as a courtesy, please credit The National Football Foundation and use the NFF logo, which is available upon request.

PDF of release


Oct. 5, 2002
Texas Tech def. No. 23 Texas A&M, 48-47 (OT)
College Station, Texas

In typical Texas Tech offensive fashion, NFF National Scholar-Athlete and current Red Raider coach
Kliff Kingsbury used the air game to light up the Texas A&M defense in a shootout of the in-state rivals. Texas Tech, trailing by as many as 18 points in the third quarter, mounted a fourth-quarter charge on a pair of Kingsbury TD tosses, one to Wes Welker and one to Taurean Henderson. Welker then returned a punt 88 yards for a score, followed by a successful two-point conversion for a 38-35 lead. A mere eight seconds later, the Aggies responded with a touchdown of their own, but they missed the extra point, giving them a 41-38 advantage. Tech capitalized on the Aggie miscue, making a 42-yard field goal with two seconds in regulation to send the game to overtime. A&M scored first, but once again missed the extra point, leaving the door open for Tech who scored on a Kingsbury pass to Nehemiah Glover. The Red Raider extra point attempt was good, giving them a 48-47 overtime win. Kingsbury went an astonishing 48-58 passing, with 474 yards (then a school record) and five touchdowns on the day.


Sept. 30, 1939
Fordham def. Waynesburg [Pa.], 34-7
New York City

The Waynesburg Yellow Jackets and the Fordham Rams played in the first televised football game. The game came on the heels of the first professional baseball game to be aired and less than six months after the first ever sporting event, a baseball game between Columbia and Princeton. NBC broadcasted the matchup, using only one camera to catch the action on the field of Triborough Stadium on Randall’s Island in New York City. Fordham, coached by College Football Hall of Fame player
Jim Crowley (Notre Dame), was a heavy favorite and toppled Waynesburg, 34-7, in front of a viewing audience of about 500 homes.

Oct. 1, 1895
Penn def. Swarthmore [Pa.], 40-0

In their first game of the 1895 season, the Penn Quakers, led by Hall of Fame coach
George Woodruff (Pennsylvania, Illinois, Carlisle), took on Swarthmore in Philadelphia. It was the first game the Quakers played on Penn’s Franklin Field, the first college football stadium built in the nation. Shutting out the Swarthmore 40-0, the win marked Penn’s first of ten shutouts in the 1895 season. The Quakers went on to a perfect 14-0 season, averaging 34.3 ppg while surrendering just 1.7 ppg. Four players on the 1895 Penn team earned induction into the Hall of Fame – George Brooke, Charlie Gelbert, Jack Minds and Charles Wharton.

Oct. 2, 1982
No. 2 Pittsburgh def. No. 14 West Virginia, 16-13

Hall of Fame quarterback
Dan Marino (Pittsburgh) led the No. 2 Pittsburgh Panthers to a 16-13 defeat of the No. 14 West Virginia Mountaineers in Pittsburgh. Under Hall of Fame coach Don Nehlen (Bowling Green, West Virginia), the Mountaineers held a 13-0 lead in the fourth quarter before Marino drove Pitt’s offense to two late touchdowns. Pittsburgh added a safety with just three minutes remaining for a 16-13 advantage. West Virginia’s 52-yard field goal attempt to tie the game went wide, securing the victory for Pitt. Marino ended the game 20-41 passing for 211 yards, a performance that made him Pitt’s total career offensive leader at the time.

Oct. 3, 1970
No. 7 Mississippi def. Alabama, 48-23
Jackson, Miss.

Hall of Famer
Archie Manning (Mississippi) led the No. 7 Rebels against Hall of Fame coach Bear Bryant (Maryland, Kentucky, Texas A&M, Alabama) in front of a sold out crowd at Jackson Memorial Stadium. Ole Miss jumped out to a 14-0 first quarter lead, but the Crimson Tide clawed its way to a 26-17 third-quarter deficit. A fumbled punt recovery by Mississippi kick started a three-touchdown run by Manning and the Rebel offense, cementing an Ole Miss victory. In all, Manning, who was battling an injury, passed for 157 yards, rushed for 46 yards and scored five touchdowns (3 passing, 2 rushing.) Mississippi defeated Alabama, 48-23, giving the Rebels just their second victory over Alabama in 60 years.

Oct. 4, 1986
San Jose State def. No. 19 Fresno State, 45-41
San Jose, Calif.

Week five of the 1986 college football season had San Jose State taking on No. 19 Fresno State in San Jose. The 3-0 Bulldogs had not suffered a loss since 1984, and the Spartans, who had finished the previous season 2-8-1, entered the matchup at 2-2. Three first-half touchdowns gave the Spartans a 24-0 advantage at half, but Fresno State rallied back with a 31-point run. San Jose State added a pair of touchdowns in the final minute, securing a 45-41 win, the second of nine consecutive Spartan victories. San Jose State finished the year with a 10-2 mark, won the Pacific Coast Athletic Association Championship and defeated Miami (Ohio) 37-7 in the California Bowl.

Oct. 6, 1990
No. 12 Colorado def. Missouri, 33-31
Columbia, Mo.

In one of the more unusual games in college football history, the No. 12 Colorado Buffaloes topped the Missouri Tigers in Columbia after an officiating error gave Colorado an extra down with 31 seconds left to play. Known as the “Fifth Down Game,” CU backup quarterback
Charles Johnson spiked the ball on first and fourth downs to stop the clock, and running back Eric Bieniemy was stopped twice just short of the goal line. A fifth down allowed Johnson to run the ball in for the game-winning touchdown. Colorado, coached by 2013 College Football Hall of Fame inductee Bill McCartney, finished the 1990 season at 11-1-1, claiming the only national title in school history.

About The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the BCS, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Liberty Mutual Insurance, NCAA Football, and Under Armour. For more information, please visit
cialis pas cialis pas cialis pas

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners