National Football Foundation

News Detail

This Week in College Football History: Sept. 16-22
This Week in College Football History takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 145 years.
Published: 9/13/2013 11:00:00 AM
(Pictured: Hall of Fame linebacker Pat Tillman (Arizona State) led the No. 17 Sun Devils to a 19-0 upset of No. 1 Nebraska in 1996.)

As part of an ongoing series throughout the fall, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame posts
This Week in College Football History, which takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 145 years. If you choose to use this content in whole or in part, as a courtesy, please credit The National Football Foundation and use the NFF logo, which is available upon request.


Sept. 21, 1996
No. 17 Arizona State def. No. 1 Nebraska, 19-0
Tempe, Ariz.

No. 1 Nebraska returned to Sun Devil Stadium, the site of the Cornhuskers’ national championship win in the Fiesta Bowl just eight months prior, for a matchup with No. 17 Arizona State. The Sun Devil defense, led by College Football Hall of Famer
Pat Tillman, was relentless in its attack, scoring on three safeties after two miscues by Nebraska and a sack. Arizona State stunned the Cornhuskers with a 19-0 victory, snapping Nebraska’s 26-game win streak and pulling off only the 12th shutout of a No. 1-ranked team.


Sept. 16, 1960
Oregon State def. No. 6 Southern California, 14-0
Los Angeles

Hall of Fame coach
Tommy Prothro (Oregon State, UCLA) revolutionized play calling as he led the Beavers to a shutout upset of No. 6 Southern California on the road to open the 1960 season. Prothro immediately instituted college football’s new “wild card” rule, allowing a free substitute after each play. Seated in the press box, the innovative Prothro’s eagle-eye view of the game allowed him to pick up USC patterns and schemes. Prothro called plays from the press box by phoning an assistant on the sideline, who then used the free sub to relay the call to the huddle. The three-touchdown underdogs knocked off the Trojans, 14-0.

Sept. 17, 1966
Penn State def. Maryland, 15-7
State College, Pa.

After serving 16 seasons as a Penn State assistant, Hall of Famer
Joe Paterno made his now-historic head coaching debut against Maryland in 1966. The Nittany Lions struggled early with penalties, and the Terps took advantage with a 7-0 lead. Hall of Fame tackle Mike Reid took charge of the Penn State defense as he recorded an NCAA-record three safeties on the afternoon. Quarterback Jack White led the offense, going 9-17 for 110 yards passing, and rushing for 86 yards and a touchdown. Maryland put together a late drive but turned the ball over on downs on the one-yard line, giving Paterno his first-career win.

Sept. 18, 1999
Cincinnati def. No. 9 Wisconsin, 17-12

2013 Hall of Fame inductee
Ron Dayne’s (Wisconsin) record-breaking day was not enough to save the Badgers from a 17-12 upset in Cincinnati. Dayne’s 231-yard effort on 28 carries made him the Big Ten’s all-time leading rusher (5,615 yards), surpassing Hall of Famer and two-time Heisman Trophy winner Archie Griffin (Ohio State). However, Wisconsin defeated itself with a red-zone fumble, muffed punt and a touchdown called back on a penalty all in the final eight minutes of the game. Dayne would go on to claim the Heisman Trophy, Walter Camp, Maxwell and Doak Walker awards while leading the Badgers to the Big Ten title and a Rose Bowl win. Dayne concluded his career with 7,125 career-rushing yards, making him the all-time leading rusher in FBS history.

Sept. 19, 1959
Texas Tech def. Texas A&M, 20-14

For the first time in series history, Texas Tech defeated Texas A&M in consecutive seasons. The game, held at the Cotton Bowl, got off to a slow start as Tech took a 6-0 lead 23 seconds before the half when defensive back
Dick Stafford took an option-pass interception 54 yards to the end zone. The Aggies responded in the third quarter on a pair of quick touchdowns by running back Jesse McGuire, but the Red Raiders pulled back into the game with explosive plays of their own. Quarterback Glen Anderson hit Blake Turner for a 75-yard touchdown and tied the game on a two-point conversion. Hall of Fame center E.J. Holub headed the Tech line, blocking as they marched 58-yards down the field for a 20-14 lead. A&M had one last chance with three minutes remaining, but McGuire couldn’t handle the pitch, fumbling the ball out of the back of the endzone for a Texas Tech touchback and win.

Sept. 20, 1986
Miami (Ohio) def. No. 8 LSU, 21-12
Baton Rouge, La.

Miami (Ohio) continued its reputation as an SEC killer with a 21-12 upset of No. 8 LSU in Baton Rouge. The Tiger defense held the Redhawks to only 20 yards rushing and just nine first-downs, but the Miami defense had a few tricks of its own, forcing an astounding seven LSU turnovers (five fumbles, two interceptions). The RedHawks special teams unit also got in on the action with a blocked punt. With the win, Miami’s record over the powerhouse conference moved to 8-0-1.

Sept. 22, 1990
No. 15 Illinois def. Southern Illinois, 56-21
Champaign, Ill.

No. 15 Illinois dismantled Southern Illinois, 56-21, behind an NCAA record-breaking performance by
Howard Griffith. The senior running back scored every touchdown for the Illini, setting NCAA marks for the most touchdowns (8), the most rushing TDs (8) and the most points scored in a game (48) -- all before the start of the fourth quarter. Griffith’s scoring plays came on runs of five, 51, seven, 41, five, 18, five and three yards. In all, Griffith rushed 21 times for 208 yards on the day.

ABOUT The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the BCS, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Liberty Mutual Insurance, NCAA Football, and Under Armour. For more information, please visit

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners