National Football Foundation

News Detail

NFF Announces 2013 Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute Schedule Presented by Fidelity Investments
College Football Hall of Fame inductees set to return to their alma maters to receive a special tribute as they take their places among the greatest of all-time.
Published: 8/29/2013 3:30:00 PM
(Pictured: Hall of Fame coach Jimmy Johnson's (Oklahoma State, Miami [Fla.]) 2012 On-Campus Salute at Miami.)

IRVING, Texas (August 29, 2013) – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Football Hall of Fame today announced the 2013 schedule for the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, presented by Fidelity Investments®, a leading provider of not-for-profit workplace retirement savings plans in higher education[1].

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program is a hallowed tradition that began with the inaugural class in 1951, and to this day the salutes remain the first of numerous activities in each inductee’s Hall of Fame experience. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee from the Football Bowl Subdivision returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game, and many inductees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them one more chance to take the field and hear the crowd roar their name.

"Induction into the College Football Hall of Fame is the ultimate achievement in our sport, and the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute tradition allows us to bring each inductee back to their alma mater for a truly memorable experience in front of their hometown fans," said NFF President & CEO
Steve Hatchell. "We look forward to celebrating the storied careers of this year’s inductees with the tens of thousands of fans who will witness an on-campus salute this year."

This year’s Football Bowl Subdivision Hall of Fame Class, which will be inducted Dec. 10 at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York City, includes:
Ted Brown (North Carolina State), Teddy Bruschi (Arizona), Ron Dayne (Wisconsin), Tommie Frazier (Nebraska), Jerry Gray (Texas), Steve Meilinger (Kentucky), Orlando Pace (Ohio State), the late Rod Shoate (Oklahoma), Percy Snow (Michigan State), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, Fla.), Don Trull (Baylor), Danny Wuerffel (Florida), and coaches Wayne Hardin (Navy, Temple) and Bill McCartney (Colorado).

Currently Scheduled 2013 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes (Chronological Order)



School (Years Played/Coached)

Opposing Team

Sept. 7

Ron Dayne

Wisconsin (1996-99)

 vs. Tennessee Tech

Sept. 7

Wayne Hardin

Temple (1970-82)

 vs. Houston

Sept. 14

Tommie Frazier

Nebraska (1992-95)

 vs. UCLA

Sept. 21

Danny Wuerffel

Florida (1993-96)

vs. Tennessee

Oct. 5

Wayne Hardin

Navy (1959-64)

vs. Air Force

Oct. 5

Bill McCartney

Colorado (1982-94)

vs. Oregon

Oct. 19

Tedy Bruschi

Arizona (1992-95)

vs. Utah

Oct. 19

Don Trull

Baylor (1961-63)

vs. Iowa State

Oct. 26
Orlando Pace
Ohio State (1994-96)
 vs. Penn State

Nov. 2

Percy Snow

Michigan State (1986-89)

vs. Michigan

Nov. 23

Ted Brown

North Carolina State (1975-78)

vs. East Carolina

Nov. 23
Vinny Testaverde
Miami [Fla.] (1982, 1984-86)
vs. Virginia


Jerry Gray

Texas (1981-84)



Steve Meilinger




Rod Shoate

Oklahoma (1972-74)


The 2013 season marks the fourth season that Fidelity Investments will serve as the national presenting sponsor of the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes. The salutes are one component of a multi-year initiative between the two organizations to celebrate the scholar-athlete ideal and a joint commitment to higher education.

Other highlights of the sponsorship include Fidelity becoming the first presenting sponsor in the history of the organization’s prestigious NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards. The awards were first presented in 1959, and Fidelity became the presenting sponsor in 2011. The program currently provides each member of the class with an $18,000 scholarship, distributing a total of $300,000 each year to the nation’s top scholar-athletes. The program has awarded more than $10.1 million to 771 individuals since its inception.

Fidelity also helped launch the NFF Faculty Salutes Initiative in 2011 as the program’s presenting sponsor. The program recognizes the contributions of the faculty athletics representatives at each of the schools with a member of the annual NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class. As part of the initiative, the NFF presents each of the faculty representatives with a plaque and a $5,000 check from Fidelity to support the academic support services for student-athletes at each school.

About Fidelity Investments
Fidelity Investments is one of the world's largest providers of financial services, with assets under administration of $4.3 trillion, including managed assets of $1.8 trillion, as of July 31, 2013.  Founded in 1946, the firm is a leading provider of investment management, retirement planning, portfolio guidance, brokerage, benefits outsourcing and many other financial products and services to more than 20 million individuals and institutions, as well as through 5,000 financial intermediary firms.  For more information about Fidelity Investments, visit

About The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Award presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the BCS, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Liberty Mutual Insurance, NCAA Football, and Under Armour. For more information, please visit

[1] LIMRA Not-for-Profit Market Report, First Quarter 2011.

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners