National Football Foundation

News Detail

This Week in College Football History: Aug. 26 – Sept. 1
This Week in College Football History takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 145 years.
Published: 8/23/2013 11:00:00 AM

(Pictured: Hall of Fame coach Jimmy Johnson (Oklahoma State, Miami [Fla.]) opened the 1984 season with a win over top-seeded Auburn in the Kickoff Classic.)

As part of an ongoing series throughout the fall, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame posts
This Week in College Football History, which takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 145 years. If you choose to use this content in whole or in part, as a courtesy, please credit The National Football Foundation and use the NFF logo, which is available upon request.


Aug. 27, 1984
No. 10 Miami def. No. 1 Auburn, 20-18
Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, N.J.

On the heels of a dramatic national championship win in the 1984 Orange Bowl, Miami (Fla.) opened the 1984 season with a win over top-seeded Auburn, 20-18, in the Kickoff Classic under new head coach and future Hall of Famer
Jimmy Johnson (Oklahoma State, Miami). Quarterback Bernie Kosar passed for 329 yards and two touchdowns, and kicker Greg Cox converted a pair of field goals, including the eventual game-winner with 6:08 remaining. Hall of Fame halfback Bo Jackson (Auburn) rushed for 96 yards for the Tigers.


Aug. 26, 1995
No. 14 Michigan def. No. 17 Virginia, 18-17
Ann Arbor, Mich.

The 1995 Pigskin Classic between Michigan and Virginia was held in Ann Arbor, Mich., the first time the annual kickoff game was not at Anaheim Stadium in California. The home field advantage turned out to be the game changer as the Wolverines, down 17-0 in the fourth quarter, pulled off an 18-17 win over the Cavaliers. Michigan quarterback
Scott Dreisbach led a pair of touchdown drives, bringing the score to 17-12. On fourth down at the Virginia 15 with four seconds to play, Dreisbach lofted a pass to Mercury Hayes in the right corner of the endzone. Michigan won 18-17, giving future Hall of Fame coach Lloyd Carr his first career win in his debut.

Aug. 28, 1999
N.C. State def. No. 17 Texas, 23-20
Austin, Texas

NC State opened the 1999 season with a 23-20 upset of No. 17 Texas in Austin. The Wolfpack special teams unit blocked three punts en route to the win. Safety
Terrence Holt blocked two punts that were converted to touchdowns, and Eric Leak blocked another for a safety. With NC State down 20-15 with less than four minutes to play, Holt blocked his second punt of the game which was returned for the go-ahead touchdown and a 23-20 victory.

Aug. 29, 1983
No. 1 Nebraska def. No. 4 Penn State, 44-6
Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, N.J.

Defending national champion Penn State met preseason No. 1 Nebraska in the inaugural Kickoff Classic, the first regular season football game played in August. The game, held at Giants Stadium in the Meadowlands, was created by the NCAA as the only game allowed to be played before Sept. 1, with profits benefitting the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame among other football related non-profits. The game failed to produce the matchup fans anticipated, with the Huskers blowing out the Nittany Lions, 44-6. However, it did start a 20-year run for the Kickoff Classic with the last edition played in 2002.

Aug. 30, 1987
No. 17 Tennessee def. No. 16 Iowa, 23-22
Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, N.J.

Tennessee edged Iowa, 23-22, on a
Phil Reich field goal with three seconds remaining to open the 1987 season in the Kickoff Classic in the Meadowlands. Down by 11, freshman Tennessee running back Reggie Cobb helped lead the comeback charge, rushing for 100 of his 133 yards in the second half and earning game MVP honors. Vols linebacker Darrin Miller made the play of the game when he intercepted an option pitch and returned it 96 yards for a touchdown. The teams were headed by future Hall of Fame coach Hayden Fry (SMU, North Texas, Iowa) and Johnny Majors, who earned induction into the Hall as a player (Tennessee).

Aug. 31, 1934
College All-Stars tie Chicago Bears, 0-0
Soldier Field, Chicago

The Chicago Charities College All-Star Game, held from 1934-74, was a preseason matchup between recently graduated collegiate stars and the NFL champion from the previous season.  In the inaugural contest, held before a sellout crowd of 79,432 at Soldier Field, the College All-Stars stunned the pros with a scoreless tie. Notable collegiate players who appeared in the game throughout its history included future U. S. President
Gerald Ford as well as eventual Hall of Famers Slingin’ Sammy Baugh (TCU), Automatic Otto Graham (Northwestern) and Lee Roy Selmon (Oklahoma).

Sept. 1, 2001
No. 7 Oregon def. No. 23 Wisconsin, 31-28
Eugene, Ore.

Oregon and Wisconsin traded the lead six times as the Ducks edged the Badgers, 31-28, in the 2001 season opener. Oregon jumped out to a 10-0 advantage before Wisconsin responded with a pair of touchdowns for a 14-10 lead. The teams answered each other touchdown for touchdown before the Ducks sealed the win with 4:03 remaining. Oregon quarterback
Joey Harrington passed for 277 yards, threw for two touchdowns and ran for another.

ABOUT The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the BCS, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Liberty Mutual Insurance, NCAA Football, and Under Armour. For more information, please visit

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners