National Football Foundation

News Detail

This Week in College Football History: Jan. 14 – Jan. 20
Pictured above: Auburn quarterback Dameyune Craig led the South, claiming MVP honors in the 1998
Published: 1/11/2013 10:30:00 AM

Pictured above: Auburn quarterback Dameyune Craig led the South, claiming MVP honors in the 1998 Senior Bowl.

As part of an ongoing series throughout the fall, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame posts This Week in College Football History, which takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 144 years. If you choose to use this content in whole or in part, as a courtesy, please credit The National Football Foundation and use the NFF logo, which is available upon request.


January 17, 1998
: Mobile hometown star and former Auburn quarterback Dameyune Craig appeared in the 1998 Senior Bowl. The local hero passed for two touchdowns, claiming MVP honors and leading the South to a 31-8 win in front of a record 40,820 crowd at Ladd Stadium in Mobile, Ala. The Tiger quarterback connected with his former Auburn teammate Fred Beasley for the first of his two touchdown passes in the first quarter, putting the South on top with a 10-0 lead. With 29 seconds left in the second quarter and the North threatening to score, Florida defensive back Fred Weary set a Senior Bowl record with a 97-yard interception return, giving the South a 17-0 halftime lead. NFF National Scholar-Athletes Penn State linebacker Aaron Collins and LSU punter Chad Kessler both appeared in the game. CLICK HERE TO WATCH A VIDEO RECAP OF THIS GAME ON THE NFF DIGITAL NETWORK.


January 14, 1995
: Colorado wide receiver Michael Westbrook closed the season in the same fashion he began it, catching a 26-yard final-play of the game pass from California quarterback Dave Barr to give the West a 30-28 win in the East-West Shrine game in Palo Alto, Calif.  He had opened the season by catching the famous 64-yard Hail Mary pass, known as “The Miracle at Michigan,” in the Buffs’ 27-26 victory over Michigan.

January 15, 2005
: Louisville teammates quarterback Stefan LeFors and wide receiver J.R. Russell combined for two touchdown passes, and Purdue wide receiver Taylor Stubblefield added two more TD catches, providing the East a 45-27 victory in the East-West Shrine game in San Francisco, Calif.

January 16, 1886:
Coach Oscar Howard's California Golden Bears open the newly formed California Football League season with a 20-2 victory over the Wasps Football Club at the Grand Stands at Fourteenth and Centre streets in Oakland. The contest was one of the first games played on the Pacific Coast utilizing 11 players instead of 15.

January 18, 1998
: The South rallied in the game’s final two minutes to defeat the North 20-19 in the Hula Bowl at War Memorial Stadium in Wailuku, Hawaii. The deciding points came off the foot of Arizona State kicker Robert Nycz, who kicked a 47-yard field goal to claim the victory for the South in the waning minutes. It looked like the North might win after Michigan quarterback and NFF National Scholar-Athlete Brian Griese caught a 5-yard touchdown pass from Penn State receiver Joe Jurevicius, who threw the ball after a reverse from Wolverine running back Chris Howard. The score gave the North a 19-17 lead with 6:43 to play. On their next possession Griese had driven the North back into South territory, but two sacks and an incomplete pass returned the ball to the South, opening the door for the game winning field goal.

January 19, 1888:
Southern California concludes its inaugural year of intercollegiate football with a 4-0 win over the Alliance Athletic Club to complete an unbeaten season. The Trojans would not lose a game until 1891.

January 20, 1990
: In one of the largest margins in Senior Bowl history, the North dominated the South 41-0 in Mobile, Ala. The shutout was the first in Senior Bowl history. Penn State tailback Blair Thomas ran for 137 yards and a touchdown, earning MVP honors. He teamed with LSU quarterback Tommy Hodson, who threw for two touchdowns for the North, and Minnesota running back Darrell Thompson, who added two more on the ground. The North defense, led by West Virginia linebacker Renaldo Turnbull, racked up six sacks.

This report was researched and written by College Football Hall of Fame Curator and Historian Kent Stephens.

ABOUT The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with early leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame is a non-profit educational organization that runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 120 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame, the NFF Scholar-Athlete Awards presented by Fidelity Investments, Play It Smart, the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Alumni Association, and scholarships of more than $1.3 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Bowl, the William V. Campbell Trophy endowed by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. NFF corporate partners include the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the BCS, Fidelity Investments, Herff Jones, Liberty Mutual Insurance, NCAA Football, and Under Armour. For more information, please visit

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners