National Football Foundation

News Detail

This Week in College Football History: Jan. 7 – Jan. 13
Pictured above: NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell presents Auburn head coach Gene Chizik
Published: 1/4/2013 4:15:00 PM

Pictured above: NFF President & CEO Steven J. Hatchell presents Auburn head coach Gene Chizik the MacArthur Bowl Championship Trophy after the Tigers won the BCS title game following the 2010 season. Photo Credit: Rick Scuteri.

As part of an ongoing series throughout the fall, The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame posts
This Week in College Football History, which takes a look back at some of college football's landmark moments over the last 144 years. If you choose to use this content in whole or in part, as a courtesy, please credit The National Football Foundation and use the NFF logo, which is available upon request.


January 10, 2011
: A game winning field goal on the final play of the game gave top-ranked Auburn the 2010 national title with a 22-19 victory against second-ranked Oregon in the Tostitos BCS National Championship Game in Glendale, Ariz. The key play in the Tigers’ final drive came when Michael Dyer appeared to be tackled, but he fell on an Oregon defender without having his knee touch the turf. Dyer popped back up, dashing for a 37-yard gain and setting up the game winning field goal. The win gave Auburn its first national championship since 1957 and a perfect 14-0 season. Oregon fell to 12-1 with a No. 3 AP ranking behind TCU at 13-0. CLICK HERE TO WATCH A VIDEO RECAP OF THIS GAME ON THE NFF DIGITAL NETWORK.


January 7, 2008
: A wild final weekend of the regular season produced multiple upsets, enabling Ohio State (11-1) and Louisiana State (despite two losses at 11-2) to reach the Allstate BCS National Championship Game in New Orleans, La.  Attempting to avenge their BCS title loss from the previous year, Ohio State started strong. They jumped to a 10-0 lead with Chris “Beanie” Wells rushing for a 65 yard touchdown, but the Tigers awoke, running off the next 31 points in the 38-24 victory. In winning the national championship, LSU became the first team to win the BCS title with two losses.

January 8, 2009
: In a matchup of Heisman winning quarterbacks, the spotlight focused on the explosive offenses of Florida (12-1) and Oklahoma (12-1) for the 2009 FedEx BCS National Championship Game in Miami Gardens, Fla.  Entering the contest, the Sooners, led by QB Sam Bradford, averaged 54 points per game while the Gators and QB Tim Tebow (who would win the NFF William V. Campbell Trophy the following season) notched an average 45 points per game. Florida scored first on a 20-yard Tebow TD toss to Louis Murphy.  Bradford answered with a 6-yard pass to Jermaine Gresham, tying the score at 7-7. The Sooners nearly took the lead late in the first half only to have a batted pass intercepted in the end zone. The teams traded touchdowns in the second half before the Gators broke away with a field goal and another Tebow touchdown in their 24-14 national title victory.

January 9, 2012
: In a rematch of a regular season meeting, No. 2 Alabama reversed its fortunes by defeating top-ranked Louisiana State 21-0 in the 2012 Allstate BCS National Championship Game in New Orleans, La.  Ranked one and two in the standings, the SEC rivals also finished as the nation's top two defensive teams. The Crimson Tide defense lived up to their statistics by posting the first shutout out in a BCS bowl game and limiting LSU to five first downs.   The Tiger defense was nearly as effective as they forced Alabama to settle for five field goals by Jeremy Shelly.  In the fourth quarter, the Tide finally added a touchdown on a 34-yard run by Trent Richardson. Barrett Jones, who would claim the NFF William V. Campbell Trophy the following season, made his second of three appearances in the title game. The game also marked the first BCS title game between two schools from the same conference.

January 11, 1969
: Hall of Fame fullback Bill Enyart (Oregon State) opened the scoring in the Senior Bowl as the North grabbed a 14-0 lead in Mobile, Ala. Hall of Fame WR Jerry Levias (SMU) caught a touchdown pass, bringing the South to within four points at 14-10. The deciding score came when Hall of Fame LB Ron Pritchard (Arizona State) recovered a South fumble at the two-yard line, leading to a quick North score in the 27-16 win. Other College Football Hall of Fames appearing in the game included Joe Greene (North Texas), Ted Hendricks (Miami, Fla.), Ted Kwalick (Penn State), Bill Stanfill (Georgia), and Roger Wehrli (Missouri).

January 12, 1906
: Two separate college football rules committees merged in a meeting at the Hotel Netherland in New York. From these meetings, college football began mass reforms of the sport.  The new organization, known as the Intercollegiate Athletic Association of the United States, adopted new rules to curb the brutality of the sport, including the legalization of the forward pass and the establishment of the neutral zone.  In 1910, the organization changed its name to the National Collegiate Athletic Association.

January 13, 1979
: The South nearly doubled the score on the North in a 41-21 victory in the Senior Bowl.   Arkansas DB Vaughn Lusby broke a 7-7 tie with an 82-yard kickoff return and Hall of Fame RB Charles Alexander (LSU) added a two-yard touchdown run for the South.  Both Lusby and Alexander would be selected by the Cincinnati Bengals in the NFL draft. College Football Hall of Fame TE Kellen Winslow, Sr., (Missouri) also appeared in the game in Mobile, Ala.

This report was researched and written by College Football Hall of Fame Curator and Historian Kent Stephens.

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners