National Football Foundation

News Detail

Coach R.C. Slocum Set for Sept. 22 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute
Texas A&M and the National Football Foundation will jointly honor Coach Slocum, a 2012 College Football Hall of Fame inductee, as the Aggies host South Carolina State.
Published: 9/19/2012 10:47:00 AM

DALLAS, Sept. 19, 2012 - Texas A&M University and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that they will jointly honor Coach R.C. Slocum with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments®, on Sept. 22 during the game between the Aggies and South Carolina State. Coverage of the game will start at 7:00 p.m. ET on FOX Sports Net. 

"I am very humbled by this honor," Slocum said at the time of announcement of his induction. "This great game of college football has meant so much to me through the years. To be able to join a group of coaches that I looked up to and admired during my career, and now to be associated with them is an unbelievable honor. This is validation of the players, the assistant coaches and the entire staffs I was so fortunate to work with here at Texas A&M. The 12th Man, our awesome student body and the former students, created an atmosphere at Kyle Field that was also crucial to our success." 

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program is a hallowed tradition that began with the inaugural class in 1951, and to this day the salutes remain the first of numerous activities in each inductee's Hall of Fame experience. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game, and many inductees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them one more chance to take the field and hear the crowd roar their name. 

"During his career, Coach Slocum established himself as having one of the greatest defensive minds in college football," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "He recruited amazing talent and he instilled in them the ultimate commitment to teamwork, which enabled the Aggies to dominate the Southwest conference. We are thrilled be honoring him, and we look forward to celebrating his career on September 22." 

The head coach at Texas A&M from 1989-2002, R.C. Slocum became the winningest coach in Texas A&M and Southwest Conference history. He won with a 72 percent of his coach, posting an all-time record of 123-47-2. A four-time national coach of the year honoree, Slocum's Aggies experienced reigns of dominance over the SWC, including a 22-game league winning streak, a 28-0-1 conference record from 1991-94, and three SWC titles. He also led the Texas A&M to one of the school's landmark victories on Dec. 5, 1998, with a 36-33 double-overtime upset of Kansas State, which gave the Aggies their only Big 12 championship and only win over a No. 1-ranked team. 

Slocum led the Aggies to 11 bowl games in 14 seasons, five New Year's Day bowl appearances and 10 AP top 25 finishes. He retired as college football's sixth-winningest active coach. Under Slocum's leadership, 14 players earned First Team All-America status. Linebacker Dat Nguyen submitted one of the finest seasons in school history in 1998, winning the Bednarik and Lombardi awards. 

Slocum, a standout receiver and defensive lineman for at McNeese State, holds a bachelor's degree and a master's degree from his alma mater, and he was named a Distinguished Alumnus in 2001. He currently works as a special assistant to President R. Bowen Loftin at Texas A&M. 

A Texas Sports Hall of Fame and Texas A&M University Athletics Hall of Fame member, Slocum served as the chairman of the Children's Miracle Network in Central Texas as well as the Cattle Baron's Association, which raises scholarship money for young people in ranching. He is active with Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the Scotty's House home for abused children. A former AFCA Board of Trustees member, he served as grand marshal at the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo Parade. 

Slocum becomes the sixth coach with ties to Texas A&M to enter the Hall of Fame, joining (with year of induction in chronological order) Dana Bible (1951), Matty Bell (1955), Homer Norton(1971), Paul "Bear" Bryant (1986), Gene Stallings (2010). Hall of Fame players from Texas A&M include John Kimbrough (1954), Joe Routt (1962), Joel Hunt (1967), Joseph Utay (1974), John David Crow (1976), Charlie Krueger (1983), Jack Pardee (1986), Dave Elmendorf(1997), Ray Childress (2010). 

Including the 2012 FBS class, only 918 players and 200 coaches have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame from the nearly five million people who have played or coached the game over the past 144 years. In other words, only two ten thousandths of one percent (.0002) of those who have set foot on the gridiron have earned the distinction. For a complete list of players and coaches in the hall, please visit

The 2012 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, held at New York City's historic Waldorf=Astoria Hotel on Tuesday, December 4. This year's hall of fame class includes: Charles Alexander (LSU), Otis Armstrong (Purdue),Steve Bartkowski (California), Hal Bedsole (Southern California), Dave Casper (Notre Dame), Ty Detmer (BYU), Tommy Kramer (Rice), Art Monk (Syracuse), Greg Myers(Colorado State), Jonathan Ogden (UCLA), Gabe Rivera (Texas Tech), Mark Simoneau(Kansas State), Scott Thomas (Air Force), John Wooten (Colorado), and coaches Phillip Fulmer (Tennessee), Jimmy Johnson (Oklahoma State, Miami [Fla.]) and R.C. Slocum. For more information, please contact Will Rudd at or by calling 972-556-1000.

2012 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes

Presented by Fidelity Investments

(Listed in Chronological Order)

School (Years Played/Coached)
Opposing Team
Sept. 22
Coach R.C. Slocum
Texas A&M (1989-2002)
vs. South Carolina State
Sept. 22
Hal Bedsole
USC (1961-63)
vs. California
Oct. 5
Art Monk
Syracuse (1976-79)
vs. Pittsburgh
Oct. 6
Greg Myers
Colorado State (1992-95)
vs. Fresno State
Oct. 11
John Wooten
Colorado (1956-58)
vs. Arizona State
Oct. 13
Otis Armstrong
Purdue (1970-72)
vs. Wisconsin
Oct. 13
Dave Casper
Notre Dame (1971-73)
vs. Stanford
Oct. 13
Ty Detmer
BYU (1988-91)
vs. Oregon State
Oct. 13
Tommy Kramer
Rice (1973-76)
vs. UTSA
Oct. 13
Gabe Rivera
Texas Tech (1979-82)
vs. West Virginia
Oct. 20
Coach Phillip Fulmer
Tennessee (1992-08)
vs. Alabama
Oct. 27
Mark Simoneau
Kansas State (1996-99)
vs. Texas Tech
Nov. 1
Coach Jimmy Johnson
Miami (Fla.) (1984-88)
vs. Virginia Tech
Nov. 2
Steve Bartkowski
California (1972-74)
vs. Washington
Nov. 3
Charles Alexander
LSU (1975-78)
vs. Alabama
Nov. 16
Scott Thomas
Air Force (1992-95)
vs. Hawaii
Nov. 17
Jonathan Ogden
UCLA (1992-95)
vs. USC

The 2012 season marks the third season that Fidelity Investments will serve as the national presenting sponsor of the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes. The salutes are one component of a multi-year initiative between the two organizations to celebrate the scholar-athlete ideal and a joint commitment to higher education. Other highlights of the sponsorship include Fidelity becoming the first presenting sponsor of the organization's prestigious NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards and helping launch the NFF Faculty Salutes Initiative, which recognizes the contributions of the faculty athletics representatives around the country.

Created by the National Football Foundation, is the home for storytelling that promotes the power of amateur football.

corporate partners